Search the Site
Create a Site
Read the News
Whats On

Erlestoke The Holy Saviour

PARISH OF ERLESTOKE, THE HOLY SAVIOUR (Parliamentary Electoral Roll number: 291, Church Electoral Roll Number: 22). Erlestoke is at the eastern end of the benefice, bordering the Benefice of The Lavingtons, Cheverells and Easterton. It is a pretty village with many picturesque houses remaining from the old Erlestoke estate, some of these buildings bearing carved statues on their frontages that were probably 'recycled' from earlier buildings in Edington. The old manor house, Erlestoke House, and its surrounds now house the 300-plus inmates of Her Majesty’s Prison Erlestoke. The village has an eighteen- hole golf course situated between the villages of Erlestoke and Coulston, on what used to be farmland. The village itself runs along both sides of the B3098, with two roads leading off to ‘The Park’, an ex district council estate of sixteen houses leading to the Village Hall, and Lower Road where some of the old remaining farms are situated. The village has just lost its Post Office and Stores, but still hosts Turner’s Garage with Skoda agency and The George and Dragon inn. Erlestoke falls within the area designated for Holy Trinity CofE Aided Primary School at Great Cheverell.

Web :

Erlestoke Church was built in 1880 after the old Church of Saint James had been demolished. There is no other church property at Erlestoke. There is a regular pattern of three Sunday services a month, together with the occasional mid-week Eucharist. On 1st and 2nd Sundays there is a Parish Communion from Common Worship, and on 3rd Sundays there is BCP Evensong supported by the choir of Edington Priory Church.

See also

Graphic version of this page